“Guy Barber” Ride – Well done, David!

Congratulations to local CTC member David who completed his first century ride last Sunday!  (And he found the time and energy to take photos!)
David writes: I started out early – 6.20 a.m. from the Canoe Centre, Northampton – and arrived in St Neots at 8.45 a.m. for a sandwich and drink before heading on to Cambridge. There was a mist in the sky that stopped the sun warming the morning up too much and the breeze created by cycling helped to cool me.
I arrived in Cambridge at 10.35 a.m. and wandered around the centre looking at the colleges, the punting and the market stalls. I had tea and cake at Tatties Café before starting my way back home through the crowds of tourists around 1.30 p.m.IMG_0670 - Punting in Cambridge

Dave's bike outside Tatties Café

Dave’s bike outside Tatties Café

I returned to St Neots at 3.00 p.m. and chose to continue on a route which was slightly different from the way I’d come in the morning. It was one of the hottest days of the year and I eventually arrived back at 7.30pm. Although I did not have a cycle computer to measure my distance, Bill (the organiser of the “Guy Barber” Ride) has confirmed I have done my first 100-miler.

Leave a Reply

