Tyre Tip

No Ride Report this week (it was the big group AGM yesterday) so I thought I’d share with you a tyre tip with you instead. And the timing’s not bad given that we’re now in the winter riding season (that’d be “winter” then) and the maintenance classes are due to start this week.

Some of us believe that if we get tyre back on the wheel, we’re done.

Others, however, get all pedantic about lining the label up with the valve. Something about it “looking right” and finding “things”.

Why?

It’s quicker, that’s why.

The bendy bike suffered a p*nct*re last week, and I couldn’t find what had caused it.

Not until I found the hole in the inner tube, that is, lined it up against the tyre and then squeezed that bit of tyre very, very hard. The stone that caused it wasn’t visible or feelable unless you put an immense amount of pressure on the tyre (which, of course, is what happens when you ride).

You know why it’s important to find the cause I trust …

So, when I put the tyre back on, I spent that extra 2 seconds making sure it was refitted exactly as it had come off :

TyreLabel

all lined up, ready for next time.

Leave a comment