Social evening – “The Armstrong Lie” – Tuesday 8 April

Ian Macsporran has arranged a social evening and writes:

Next Tuesday is a social evening!

The Forum Cinema is showing “The Armstrong Lie” :

In 2009 Alex Gibney was hired to make a film about Lance Armstrong’s comeback to cycling. The project was shelved when the doping scandal erupted, and re-opened after Armstrong’s confession. This film picks up in 2013 and presents a riveting, insider’s view of the unravelling of one of the most extraordinary stories in the history of sports. As Lance Armstrong himself says: “I didn’t live a lot of lies, but I lived one big one.”
The cinema is off the Billing Brook Road at NN3 8JR. May I suggest we meet in the foyer at 7.15 p.m.? If coming by bike, folding bikes can be kept in their office; for full-size bikes there is a locked cage at the rear. If you want to use the cage, please let me know by Monday and I will visit the cinema again to make sure we have access.

The running time is 2 hrs 04 mins. Afterwards, we could enjoy a drink at “The Bold Dragoon” in Weston Favell Village (48 High Street, NN3 3JW) where bikes can be left at the rear. It’s the nearest pub with good ales (e.g. Timothy Taylor’s) to the cinema.

Any questions? Want to let me know you’re coming? I’m on 07960 302095!

Ian M

3 thoughts on “Social evening – “The Armstrong Lie” – Tuesday 8 April

  1. Greetings again from Chelmsford City CTC. Hope you find this interesting tonight and no doubt will generate animated conversation afterwards. I am about to lobby our small theatre/cinema to show the new film about Marco Pantani (The Accidental Death of a Cyclist) when it is released next month. Incidentally, I have been experimenting with embedding video on our blog – I posted the British Transport Film ‘Cyclists’ Special’ last week, then did a 2-minute edit of our latest Sunday ride http://chelmsfordcityctc.wordpress.com/

    • Lovely video of your Sunday ride – really gets the flavour / atmosphere across! We did indeed talk long and hard in the pub afterwards; I didn’t get home till 11.15! We’re looking forward to the Pantani film too!

      You can’t have missed, I hope, that one of the Cyclists’ Special’s rides out of Rugby was onto our home patch – especially The Fitzgerald Arms at Naseby! Hidden delights in Northamptonshire, the county of spires and squires! And, whichever way you approach Naseby, it’s always uphill. You can see why Fairfax and the parliamentary army raced to it to gain the vantage point before dawn on the day of the battle in 1644.

      And we’ve just planned a train-assisted ride to the CTC Heart of England Rally with its service at the Cyclists’ War Memorial at Meriden next month. Bike back from Meriden to Berkswell, train to Rugby (!) and bike to Northampton.

      Now, where the clamp for holding a camera on my ‘bars?

      • I did recognise a few places in the Cyclists’ Special film but I’m ashamed to say I’m not as familiar with Northamptonshire as Leicestershire/Warwickshire. Foxton Locks in Leics. are interesting – I pushed my father-in-law up the adjacent path last summer. I can vouch for its gradient (hence the seven locks).

        Who knows, one weekend I might recreate a piece of history and bring my 1953 Rotrax on the train and you can show me what Northamptonshire has to offer. Always looks lovely from blog photos. I read about the cyclists’ memorial and the Heart of England rally in Cycle magazine. Should be a poignant occasion.

        The filming was a quick job but has gone down quite well, so I’ll be doing something a bit better edited soon when the sun shines.

        I read Tyler Hamilton’s book, ‘The Secret Race’, in a day this week. It really was un-put-downable and a very detailed account. Puts our coffee and cake ‘performance-boost’ into perspective.

Leave a Reply

